Skip to main content

El Rey Network Acquires Fan-Favorite Series for Action-Packed Lineup; "The X-Files," "Starsky & Hutch" and "Dark Angel" Set to Premiere February 14th

El Rey Network, the new 24-hour English-language cable network founded by filmmaker Robert Rodriguez, has licensed the cable rights to three fan-favorite and critically-acclaimed series: "Starsky & Hutch," "Dark Angel," and "The X-Files." Under the agreement, El Rey Network will have access to an extensive library of newly-acquired content which will air as part of an expanded 24-hour schedule beginning Friday, February 14th. These three celebrated series are part of an adrenaline-infused lineup featuring rebellious heroes, iconic car chases, epic fight scenes and more, which all speak to the network's desire to provide viewers a visceral storytelling experience. Terms of the deal were not disclosed.

In addition to the acquired programming, the network also unveiled plans to launch "Grindhouse Fridays," a series of themed primetime movie nights that celebrate cult classic feature films in the grindhouse, action, horror and sci-fi genres. Set to premiere Friday, February 21st at 10PM ET, this weekly event will put a spotlight on selections chosen by Rodriguez and his friends due to the pop culture contribution that each have made to their respective genres. Hosted by a rotating group of talent, including Rodriguez, filmmaker Roberto Orci of K/O Paper Products (Sleepy Hollow, Fringe, Hawaii Five-0, the Star Trek and Transformers franchises, and The Amazing Spider-Man 2) and Harry Knowles (Ain't It Cool News), each installment will explore why these particular franchises are meaningful both to the industry-at-large and to passionate movie fans.

El Rey Network will also ring in the New Year with special coverage of LIGA MX's Pumas (UNAM) home games, airing on various Sundays. Based in Mexico City, PUMAS is one of Mexico's most popular clubs, and El Rey will put their unique stamp on this international sensation with vibrant and colorful English-language play-by-play and analysis provided by broadcasters Ramses Sandoval and Tony Quevedo.

Highlights of El Rey Network's programming schedule as well as detailed information on the network's acquired series, can be found below:

LICENSED SERIES:

· Starsky & Hutch (Airs Monday - Friday from 2PM - 4PM ET/1PM - 3PM CT) Starsky & Hutch is one of the most popular and iconic series of the '70s. Starring Paul Michael Glaser (Dave Starsky) and David Soul (Ken "Hutch' Hutchinson) as undercover cops and best friends, the series redefined the genre with full-throttle car chases (in the infamous Gran Torino), offbeat and self-deprecating humor and colorful characters.

· Dark Angel (Airs Mondays and Thursdays from 4PM - 8PM ET/3PM - 7PM CT) Dark Angel, created by James Cameron and starring Jessica Alba, was an award-winning science fiction drama series that chronicled the life of Max Guevara (played by Alba), a genetically-enhanced super-soldier who escapes from a covert government biotech/military facility as a child.

· The X-Files (Airs Tuesday, Wednesdays, and Fridays from 4PM ET - 8PM ET/3PM - 7PM CT; Sundays from 3PM - 7PM ET/2PM - 6PM CT) A widely-lauded, award-winning sci-fi series, The X-Files recounts the exploits of FBI Special Agents Fox Mulder (David Duchovny) and Dana Scully (Gillian Anderson) who investigate X-Files: marginalized, unsolved cases involving paranormal phenomena.

FEBRUARY 2014 - MOVIE PROGRAMMING:

· Theme: "Rip Your Heart Out" Valentine's Day

Film/Airdate: Bram Stoker's Dracula (Airing Friday, February 14 at 8:30PM ET/7:30PM CT) The 1992 horror film directed by Francis Ford Coppola and starring Gary Oldman, Winona Ryder, Anthony Hopkins and Keanu Reeves.

Film/Airdate: Fright Night (Airing Friday, February 14 at 11:00PM ET/10:00PM CT) The 1985 classic vampire film written and directed by Tom Holland.

· Theme: "The 36th Chamber of Shaolin Trilogy" The legendary kung-fu trilogy featuring The 36th Chamber Of Shaolin, Return To The 36th Chamber, and Disciples Of The 36th Chamber (Airing Saturday, February 15 and running back-to-back all day starting at 12:30PM ET/11:30 AM CT)

· Theme: "Grindhouse Friday" Hosted by Robert Rodriguez and others

Film/Airdate: Switchblade Sisters (Airing Friday, February 21 at 10PM ET/9PM CT) The 1975 action film detailing the lives of high school-aged female gang members.

Film/Airdate: Rolling Thunder (Airing Friday, February 28 at 10PM ET/9PM CT) The violent 1977 thriller starring William Devane and Tommy Lee Jones about returning Vietnam vets finding a new war at home.

PUMAS (UNAM) GAME SCHEDULE:

· Sunday, January 19th: UNAM vs Toluca at 1:00PM ET/12:00pm CT

· Sunday, February 2nd: UNAM vs Tijuana at 1:00PM ET/12:00pm CT

· Sunday, February 16th: UNAM vs Atlas at 1:00PM ET/12:00pm CT

· Sunday, March 2nd: UNAM vs Pachuca at 1:00PM ET/12:00pm CT

· Sunday, March 16th: UNAM vs Atlante at 2:00PM ET/1:00pm CT

· Sunday, March 23rd: UNAM vs Monterrey at 2:00PM ET/1:00pm CT

· Sunday, April 6th: UNAM vs Chiapas at 1:00PM ET/12:00pm CT

· Sunday, April 20th: UNAM vs Guadalajara at 1:00PM ET/12:00pm CT

In addition to the licensed series and movies, El Rey Network's first original scripted project, From Dusk Till Dawn: The Series, is currently in production in Austin, Texas. The 10-episode supernatural crime saga, created, directed and executive produced by Rodriguez (Sin City, Machete, Desperado) and based on the 1996 cult classic he created with Quentin Tarantino, will premiere March 11, 2014.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Complete Story of 'The Doctors' (1963-1973)

Daytime TV covered the world of soap operas for decades before finally folding in the 1990s. In the mid-70s, the magazine did an excellent series titled "The Complete Story of..." recounting the history of a soap opera from its inception. Below is the historical feature on the first 10 years of NBC's The Doctors (1963-1973), which is currently being aired on Retro TV. Some of the interesting tidbits include: * The Doctors did not start as a serial; it began as a "half-hour anthology series of medical dramas, set in the large metropolitan Hope Memorial Hospital, and with the four principals alternating daily in the lead role, according to NBC's original announcement. The roles were Dr. William Scott (played by Jock Gaynor), Dr. Jerry Chandler (portrayed by Richard Roat), Dr. Elizabeth Hayes (played by Margot Moser) and Rev. Samuel Shafer, a hospital chaplain (played by Fred J. Scollay). * Later in the first season, Herb Kenwith and Paul Lammers became

Melody Thomas Scott Memoir 'Always Young And Restless' Out This Summer

Emmy Award-nominated Melody Thomas Scott admits she is nothing like her The Young and the Restless role, which has seen it all in her forty-one-year tenure on America’s highest-rated daytime serial. But the high drama, angst, and catastrophes aren’t confined to her character’s plotlines. In her first-ever book, the captivating memoir "Always Young And Restless" (Diversion Books; July 14, 2020, available for pre-order now; $26.99, Hardcover; ISBN 978-1635-766943), Melody reveals the intimate and complicated truths of her upbringing as well as behind-the-scenes tales of her own riveting journey to becoming an icon and searching for “normal.” “Even though I have spent almost my entire life as an actress and performer, I have kept my private life well behind the scenes,” said Scott. “Now, I am ready to share these stories of survival and success that have shaped me into who I am today.” As Nikki Newman went from impoverished stripper to resourceful, vivacious heroine—with m

Justin Gocke Dead at 36

Former child actor Justin Gocke died on September 8. He was 36. Justin Earle Gocke was born on January 31, 1978 in Los Angeles, California. Justin Gocke and Farrah Fawcett in The Burning Bed . He started in the entertainment business at age 6, landing the first job he auditioned for, The Burning Bed movie starring Farrah Fawcett. He continued to work until age 14, ending his acting career shortly after he started high school. His credits included the role of Brandon Capwell in NBC daytime soap opera Santa Barbara , for which he won a Daytime Emmy Award in 1989. "It was such a fun and memorable day," Gocke recalled in a 2009 interview. He was nominated again in 1991. Gocke shared his most memorable Santa Barbara scenes with Robin Mattson (Gina) and Justin Deas (Keith). "We were like family, on and off screen," Gocke said.