Eva Longoria & Mario Lopez to Co-Host The 2014 NCLR Alma Awards

Acclaimed Latina actress, advocate and producer Eva Longoria will be gracing the stage once again with television personality and actor Mario Lopez to co-host the 2014 NCLR ALMA Awards. The ground-breaking awards show will simulcast live on MSNBC and mun2 as a one-hour prime-time special on Friday, October 10, 2014, at 10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT, followed by After the ALMAs with Alex Wagner, live on MSNBC at 11 p.m. ET/8 p.m. PT.

The 2014 NCLR ALMA Awards. telecast—a National Hispanic Heritage Month event—celebrates America’s favorite Latinos in the entertainment industry, television, film and music. With programming on multiple platforms, the mun2 All Access: Road to the ALMAs 2014 Special, hosted by Melissa "Crash" Barrera, featuring exclusive celebrity interviews, kicks off the ALMAs at 7 p.m. EST/4 p.m. PST. Telemundo.com will livestream the NCLR ALMA Awards Pre-Show hosted by Yarel Ramos (mun2) and Jorge Bernal (Telemundo, La Voz Kids) with additional Telemundo.com live digital coverage hosted by Jessica Carrillo (Telemundo, Al Rojo Vivo) and Christian Acosta (Latinogossip.com) at 9 p.m. ET/6 p.m. PT. The awards show and post-show will stream live on MSNBC.

In honor of the 15th edition of the NCLR ALMA Awards, NCLR is launching ALMA’s 15/Los Quinces, a group of 15 "ambassadors" for the NCLR ALMA Awards. ALMA’s 15 will share unique moments of the past 15 shows as well as the value and impact ALMA is having through recognizing and celebrating diversity and inclusion in American entertainment and media. The cast of Devious Maids, including Ana Ortiz, Judy Reyes, Edy Ganem, Maria Canals-Barrera, Gina Rodriguez, and Fatima Ptacek, The Voice of Dora the Explorer, will participate in a special presentation introduced by Telemundo and MSNBC News Anchor and Host José Diaz-Balart.

The 2014 NCLR ALMA Awards. honorees include:

Award for Industry Excellence: Guillermo Del Toro presented by Zoe Saldaña
Credited with spearheading Latino stories and themes into mainstream media and known for his visual aesthetic Touch, Guillermo del Toro is an exceptional director and producer. His diverse body of work ranges from Spanish-language dark fantasy such as “The Devil’s Backbone” and “Pan’s Labyrinth” to action films such as “Hellboy,” “Hellboy II: The Golden Army” and “Pacific Rim.”.

Special Achievement in Television: The Cast of Orange is the New Black
Selenis Leyva and Dascha Polanco will be honored for their riveting portrayals of characters Gloria Mendoza and Dayanara Diaz on Netflix’s critically acclaimed comedic drama Orange is the New Black, set in a women’s prison. This remarkably successful show, which just finished filming its third season, accentuates the work of its multicultural bevy of talented Latino actresses, whose roles have broken barriers and put human faces on the issues that confront those, including women of color, who are affected by our country’s criminal justice system.

Special Achievement in Film: Cesar Chavez
Recognized for its artistic achievements and sweeping impact in bringing the story of a Mexican American hero to the forefront, Cesar Chavez is honored for Special Achievement in Film. Directed by Diego Luna and featuring an all-star cast including Michael Peña, America Ferrera and Rosario Dawson, the film focuses on several of the most famous actions taken by Chávez and United Farm Workers, whose efforts helped win improved living and working conditions, contracts and better pay for farm workers.

Special Achievement in Music: Pitbull
Pitbull’s incredible international successes and fierce work ethic confirm his well-earned title of “Mr. Worldwide” and this year’s honoree in music. Pitbull is also a generous supporter of education through his support of a charter school that focuses on athletics as a way to excite youth about education. With business, philanthropy and musical success, he transcends genres, as well as generations in his collaborations. Yet his music remains reflective and celebratory of his deep pride in his Latino heritage.

Special Tribute: 2014 Hispanic Recipients of the Congressional Medal of Honor presented by Michael Peña
During National Hispanic Heritage Month, we are commending President Obama’s action to give long-overdue honors to servicemembers who fought heroically for our country, but were denied recognition at the time, with the Congressional Medal of Honor, the nation’s highest military award. Seventeen of the 24 members honored this past March are Latinos who served with remarkable valor and courage—even at the cost of their lives—in our nation’s military.

During the one-hour livestreamed pre-show, Charo, the flamboyant and unforgettable actress and comedienne who became a crossover star and household name at a time when there were few Latinos on television, will be presented with the Ricardo Montalban Award for Lifetime Achievement. Legendary rock en espanol band Café Tacuba will receive the NCLR ALMA de Tú Mundo Award, a joint award presented by NCLR and Telemundo in recognition of the band’s 25th anniversary of fusing rock, language and culture in to a global alternative rock scene.

The special will be produced by Flavio Morales, Sergio Alfaro and John Ehrhard, executive producers of Latino-led Big Vida Entertainment. Also serving as executive producers are Longoria and Janet Murguía, President and CEO of NCLR. Kelly Brock serves as producer.

Encore presentations of the 2014 NCLR ALMA Awards. will air throughout Hispanic Heritage Month on mun2, and exclusive content will be available for Comcast Video On Demand and on Telemundo.com/ALMA.

No comments:

Post a Comment