Skip to main content

Kate Burton and Katie Lowes to Host 2014 Ovation Awards

Kate Burton and Katie Lowes have been set to host the 2014 LA STAGE Alliance Ovation Awards Ceremony on Sunday, November 2, at the historic San Gabriel Mission Playhouse in San Gabriel, it was announced today. Red carpet arrivals begin at 5:30 and the ceremony starts at 7 p.m.

Kate Burton is a three-time Tony Award nominee and a three-time Emmy Award nominee. On the stage, her critically acclaimed work includes productions of "The Elephant Man," "An American Daughter," "The Cherry Orchard," "The Constant Wife," "Hedda Gabler," "Spring Awakening," "Doonesbury," "The Grand Manner," "The Water's Edge," and "The Beauty Queen of Leenane," among many others. In 2002, she portrayed two roles on Broadway and was nominated for a Tony Award for both -- nominations for Best Actress in a Play ("Hedda Gabler") and for Best Featured Actress in a Play ("The Elephant Man") made her one of only five actors in Tony history to be nominated for two acting awards in the same year. TV appearances include work on Law & Order, The Practice, The West Wing, Judging Amy, Medium, Grey's Anatomy, Scandal, Rescue Me, and Grimm, to name only a few.

Katie Lowes is the co-artistic director and co-founder of IAMA Theatre Company. LA theatre credits include "Wake Me Up Before You Go Go" (Comedy Central Stage), The Blank Theatre's Young Playwrights Festival, "The Accidental Blonde," "Assistance," and "Montana." Lowes has starred in many off-Broadway plays as well as regional productions. She currently stars on ABC's Scandal, now in its fourth season. Other television credits include The Sopranos, NCIS, Castle, Leverage, The Closer, Private Practice, Grey's Anatomy, and Royal Pains. Film credits include Transformers 2, Super 8, The Job, Cafe, Circle of 8, Wreck-It Ralph, Frozen, and the upcoming Big Hero 6.

Scheduled to participate as presenters are (in alphabetical order) Max Adler, Hugo Armstrong, Alexandra Billings, Debby Boone, Danielle Brazell, Anne Gee Byrd, Deborah S. Craig, Dana Delany, Drew Droege, Lorna Duyn, Todrick Hall, Daniel Dae Kim, DJ Kurs, Matthew Lillard, Josefina Lopez, Justina Machado, Jenny O'Hara, Peter Paige, Nicole Parker, Freddy Rodriguez, Leon Rossum, Tessa Thompson, and Greg Watanabe.

The production team for The Ovation Awards: 25 Years of Excellence is led by executive producer Terence McFarland, and his team of producers includes (in alphabetical order) Andrew Carlberg, Crystal Diaz, Dani Oliver, and Matt Sweeney.

For more information and details on how to attend the Ovation Awards ceremony on November 2, visit

* Ovation Awards Nominees Include Kirsten Vangsness, Blythe Danner, Leon Russom & Chris L. McKenna


Popular posts from this blog

'Days of Our Lives' Livestream Event on September 8 Promotes 'Beyond Salem'

To celebrate the premiere of the Peacock Original limited series, Days of our Lives: Beyond Salem , Xfinity and Peacock today announced an exclusive Days of our Lives: Beyond Salem livestream event only for Xfinity Reward Members. The event reunites an all-star cast including Lisa Rinna, Deidre Hall, Drake Hogestyn, James Reynolds, and Eileen Davidson on Wednesday, Sept. 8th at 8 p.m. ET/ 5 p.m. PT. Viewers will enjoy a conversation with the stars - giving fans a chance to view exclusive content, hear stories from the set, and even have the chance to ask their favorite stars questions. This special event is only for Xfinity Rewards members and is just one of the many benefits available through the Xfinity Rewards program. If you’re not yet a member of Xfinity Rewards, signing up is free and simple to do through the Xfinity app or online at From there, members can view and redeem all rewards currently available to them. “Xfinity Rewards is all about creating u

The Complete Story of 'The Doctors' (1963-1973)

Daytime TV covered the world of soap operas for decades before finally folding in the 1990s. In the mid-70s, the magazine did an excellent series titled "The Complete Story of..." recounting the history of a soap opera from its inception. Below is the historical feature on the first 10 years of NBC's The Doctors (1963-1973), which is currently being aired on Retro TV. Some of the interesting tidbits include: * The Doctors did not start as a serial; it began as a "half-hour anthology series of medical dramas, set in the large metropolitan Hope Memorial Hospital, and with the four principals alternating daily in the lead role, according to NBC's original announcement. The roles were Dr. William Scott (played by Jock Gaynor), Dr. Jerry Chandler (portrayed by Richard Roat), Dr. Elizabeth Hayes (played by Margot Moser) and Rev. Samuel Shafer, a hospital chaplain (played by Fred J. Scollay). * Later in the first season, Herb Kenwith and Paul Lammers became

Alyvia Alyn Lind Back as Faith Newman on 'The Young and the Restless'; McKenna Grace Leaving To Shoot a Movie

Alyvia Alyn Lind is returning to The Young and the Restless as Faith Newman, Nick and Sharon's daughter. Lind played Faith before McKenna Grace stepped in last summer. Grace has been cast in a movie called Russellmania and will be shooting in Vancouver. She will last air on May 29. Alyvia (or "Aly") has played a young Emily Thorne in Revenge , and can be seen in Blended , starring Drew Barrymore and Adam Sandler, which opened on Friday. Aly will make her return appearance on Y&R as Faith on June 26. UPDATE (December 14): McKenna Grace returns to the role of Faith on Christmas Day.