Skip to main content

Fifth Annual Critics' Choice Television Awards To Be Broadcast Live on May 31

The Broadcast Television Journalists Association (BTJA) today announced that The Fifth Annual Critics' Choice Television Awards will be broadcast live on A&E from the Beverly Hilton Hotel on Sunday, May 31, 2015 (8 p.m. ETPT). A&E will also air a one-hour Red Carpet Special preceding the awards show.

"The Critics' Choice Television Awards is the kickoff for the television award season and as we celebrate our fifth anniversary we're astounded by the response we've had from the community," said Joey Berlin, president of BTJA. "The television industry is at the top of its game right now and we are proud to help the public, the industry and Emmy voters identify the shows they don't want to miss."

Best known for the Critics' Choice Movie Awards, now going into its 21st year, the Broadcast Film Critics Association established BTJA and the Critics' Choice Television Awards in 2011 on behalf of television journalists working in electronic media to celebrate outstanding work in television. In addition to honoring the best shows and performers from the previous season, the CCTAs also spotlight the Most Exciting New Series premiering after May 31, 2015, judging from pilots and early episodes.

The Critics' Choice Television Awards will honor programs and performances that aired between June 1, 2014 and May 31, 2015 in the following categories:


· Best Comedy Series

· Best Actor

· Best Actress

· Best Supporting Actor

· Best Supporting Actress

· Best Guest Performer


· Best Drama Series

· Best Actor

· Best Actress

· Best Supporting Actor

· Best Supporting Actress

· Best Guest Performer


· Best Movie Made for Television

· Best Limited Series

· Best Actor

· Best Actress

· Best Supporting Actor

· Best Supporting Actress


· Best Reality Series

· Best Reality-Competition Series

· Best Reality Host


Daytime as well as late night shows are included in this category.



Honoring shows premiering after May 31, 2015.


Honoring an individual's excellence in the television industry.

The BTJA Executive Board includes: Michael Ausiello (TVLine), Joey Berlin (BFCA/BTJA), Debra Birnbaum (Variety), Jenna Busch (Voice.Fan.TV), John De Simio (BFCA/BTJA), Sam Rubin (KTLA-TV), Jarett Wieselman (BuzzFeed) and Lisa Johnson Mandell (Cumulus Radio). The organization currently has 88 voting members.

BTJA members will begin consideration immediately. The Critics' Choice Television Awards nominees will publicly be announced on May 6. The Most Exciting New Series will be announced May 18. Final voting in all other categories will take place May 27-29. Winners will be announced at the Critics' Choice Television Awards gala on May 31, live on A&E. The Critics' Choice Television Awards will be produced by Bob Bain Productions. The Red Carpet Special will be produced by Brad Lachman Productions.


Popular posts from this blog

The Complete Story of 'The Doctors' (1963-1973)

Daytime TV covered the world of soap operas for decades before finally folding in the 1990s. In the mid-70s, the magazine did an excellent series titled "The Complete Story of..." recounting the history of a soap opera from its inception. Below is the historical feature on the first 10 years of NBC's The Doctors (1963-1973), which is currently being aired on Retro TV. Some of the interesting tidbits include: * The Doctors did not start as a serial; it began as a "half-hour anthology series of medical dramas, set in the large metropolitan Hope Memorial Hospital, and with the four principals alternating daily in the lead role, according to NBC's original announcement. The roles were Dr. William Scott (played by Jock Gaynor), Dr. Jerry Chandler (portrayed by Richard Roat), Dr. Elizabeth Hayes (played by Margot Moser) and Rev. Samuel Shafer, a hospital chaplain (played by Fred J. Scollay). * Later in the first season, Herb Kenwith and Paul Lammers became

'Days of Our Lives' Livestream Event on September 8 Promotes 'Beyond Salem'

To celebrate the premiere of the Peacock Original limited series, Days of our Lives: Beyond Salem , Xfinity and Peacock today announced an exclusive Days of our Lives: Beyond Salem livestream event only for Xfinity Reward Members. The event reunites an all-star cast including Lisa Rinna, Deidre Hall, Drake Hogestyn, James Reynolds, and Eileen Davidson on Wednesday, Sept. 8th at 8 p.m. ET/ 5 p.m. PT. Viewers will enjoy a conversation with the stars - giving fans a chance to view exclusive content, hear stories from the set, and even have the chance to ask their favorite stars questions. This special event is only for Xfinity Rewards members and is just one of the many benefits available through the Xfinity Rewards program. If you’re not yet a member of Xfinity Rewards, signing up is free and simple to do through the Xfinity app or online at From there, members can view and redeem all rewards currently available to them. “Xfinity Rewards is all about creating u

Melody Thomas Scott Memoir 'Always Young And Restless' Out This Summer

Emmy Award-nominated Melody Thomas Scott admits she is nothing like her The Young and the Restless role, which has seen it all in her forty-one-year tenure on America’s highest-rated daytime serial. But the high drama, angst, and catastrophes aren’t confined to her character’s plotlines. In her first-ever book, the captivating memoir "Always Young And Restless" (Diversion Books; July 14, 2020, available for pre-order now; $26.99, Hardcover; ISBN 978-1635-766943), Melody reveals the intimate and complicated truths of her upbringing as well as behind-the-scenes tales of her own riveting journey to becoming an icon and searching for “normal.” “Even though I have spent almost my entire life as an actress and performer, I have kept my private life well behind the scenes,” said Scott. “Now, I am ready to share these stories of survival and success that have shaped me into who I am today.” As Nikki Newman went from impoverished stripper to resourceful, vivacious heroine—with m