TV Land Awards To Honor Betty White, 'Parenthood,' 'The Wonder Years,' 'Ally McBeal,' and Donny and Marie Osmond

This year's TV Land Awards will be hosted by Terry Crews (Brooklyn Nine-Nine, World's Funniest Fails), one of the most versatile performers of TV and film. This year's awards will honor the most creative, popular and loved stars and series, including Parenthood, The Wonder Years, Ally McBeal, Betty White, who will receive The Legend Award, and Donny and Marie Osmond, who will be accepting the Pop Culture Award. The late groundbreaking comedian Joan Rivers will also be honored with a special tribute. Presenters and more honorees will be announced in the coming week. The ceremony will tape on Saturday, April 11th at the Saban Theatre in Beverly Hills and air Saturday, April 18th at 9 p.m. ET/PT on TV Land with simulcasts on Nickelodeon and NickMom.

Parenthood is receiving the Fan Favorite Award, a salute to a series that is considered an All-American classic and much-loved by its fans. The drama series - based on the movie of the same name - just wrapped its sixth and final season on NBC, and tells the story of the Braverman family as they face life's triumphs and struggles. Confirmed to be at the TV Land Awards include series stars Lauren Graham, Craig T. Nelson, Peter Krause, Bonnie Bedelia, Erika Christensen, Miles Heizer, Sam Jaeger, Savannah Paige Rae, Max Burkholder, Tyree Brown, Sarah Ramos, Xolo MaridueƱa and executive producer Jason Katims.

The Wonder Years will receive this year's Impact Award, which honors shows that have made a significant impression on American entertainment and culture. The Emmy(R)-winning ABC series revolved around a young boy, Kevin Arnold, who narrated the story of his family and friends growing up in the late 1960s and early 1970s - one of the most revolutionary social time periods in American history - from his now-adult perspective. Series stars Fred Savage, Danica McKellar, Josh Saviano, Olivia d'Abo, Jason Hervey and Alley Mills will be in attendance.

Ally McBeal will be honored with the Groundbreaking Award, given to a series that sparked conversation about cultural issues. The comedy-drama, which ran on FOX from 1997 to 2002, revolved around Ally, a successful lawyer with a sloppy personal life that only gets crazier when she starts working with her childhood sweetheart Billy... and his wife. The series was known for braving the subjects of sexual politics in the workplace and gender norms with its eccentric yet loveable characters, combining heartfelt drama and silliness. Executive producer David E. Kelley, along with stars Calista Flockhart, Peter MacNicol, Lisa Nicole Carson, Gil Bellows and Courtney Thorne-Smith will be accepting the award with more cast members expected to join.

Receiving The Legend Award this year is Betty White. With a show business career that spans over 70 years starting with the 1949 variety show Hollywood on Television, Betty White is widely regarded as a national treasure and one of America's sweethearts. She went on to appear in over 100 television shows and films after that, including those that gave her her most beloved roles - The Mary Tyler Moore Show, The Golden Girls, and most recently, TV Land's Hot in Cleveland. White won seven Emmy(R) Awards in her career, the most recent in 2010 for her hilarious turn on Saturday Night Live. She also won two consecutive Screen Actors Guild Awards(R) for her portrayal of Elka on Hot in Cleveland, and was honored with the Guild's Lifetime Achievement Award in 2010.

Triple threat brother and sister duo Donny and Marie Osmond will be on hand to receive the Pop Culture Award, honoring their staying power in the cultural zeitgeist. Their variety series aired on ABC in the late 1970s and featured music and comedy sketches which are still referenced in today's conversations nearly 40 years after the show has ended.

The TV Land Awards ceremony will also include a tribute to the late trailblazing comedian Joan Rivers.

Michael Levitt (The Daytime Emmy Awards, Billboard Music Awards) and Casey Patterson (Lip Sync Battle, Guys Choice Awards) are executive producers, and Ryan Polito (Guys Choice Awards 2014, The Price is Right) is director. Greg Sills (The Teen Choice Awards, Nickelodeon Kids Choice Awards) serves as supervising producer and Gary Tellalian (American Comedy Awards) is producer.

* Betty White to Receive Lifetime Achievement Award at the 42nd Annual Daytime Emmy Awards

No comments:

Post a Comment