Skip to main content

WINNERS: 7th Annual Indie Series Awards


'Arthur' Wins Best Drama, 'Keith Broke His Leg' Named Best Comedy

LOS ANGELES, CA, April 7, 2016 – Winners for the 7th Annual Indie Series Awards (ISA7) were revealed on Wednesday night in a star-studded ceremony held at the historic El Portal Theatre, hosted by Jen Lilley and Eric Martsolf, airing on AfterBuzz TV. Switzerland produced Arthur was named best drama series, while Keith Broke His Leg won as best comedy.

The ISAs celebrate the best in independently produced scripted entertainment created for the Web.

In the drama acting categories, winners included Lilly Melgar (The Bay), Adam Henry Garcia (Conversations From the Afterlife), Jodie Hirst (Night School), Raymond Ablack (Teenagers), Kym Whitley (The Bay) and Kevin Spirtas (Winterthorne). EastSiders was named best drama ensemble.

On the comedy side, acting winners included Melissa Archer (Viral), Keith Powell (Keith Broke His Leg), Darcie Siciliano (He's With Me), Brennan Murray (The New Adventures of Peter and Wendy), Stephen Guarino (Life's a Drag) and Cady Huffman (He's With Me). Hunting Season won as the best comedy ensemble.

LARPs and Winterthorne led all series with three awards each, followed by two wins ech for The Bay, The Banks, He's With Me and Keith Broke His Leg.

Lilley and Martsolf performed a song during their opening, which included a 10-person choir made up of web series producers and stars, and a electric guitar player. The ceremony also included two medleys featuring the best original nominees with performances from Colleen Zenk, Jeffrey Christopher Todd, Benjamin Scott Holst, Ron Hanks, Jillian Claire, Elisabeth Ness, Kevin Sebastian, and Patrika Darbo.

Presenters at the ceremony included Kristos Andrews, Melissa Archer, Ben Baur, Daniel Betances, Jillian Clare, Tia Dae, Claire Downs, Melissa Claire Egan, Mary Beth Evans, Crista Flanagan, Jeremy Glazer, Ryan Gowland, Carolyn Hennesy, Cady Huffman, Zac Hug, Kathleen Gati, Jill Knox, Martha Madison, Keith Powell, Darcie Siciliano, Kevin Spirtas, Karrueche Tran, Ian Verdun, Sebastian La Cause, Erika Robel, Tristan Rogers, Marc Sinoway, Kit Williamson and Colleen Zenk.

In all, there are 56 Nominated Series from around the globe: United States, Canada, United Kingdom, France, Switzerland, Norway and Singapore. 22 series took home at least 1 award during the ceremony.

Since 2009, the Indie Series Award has honored the most creative and progressive talent in independent web series.

Check out the 2016 winners below:

Best Web Series — Drama

Best Directing — Drama
Adam Kosh, The Banks

Best Writing — Drama
Michael Caruso, Winterthorne

Best Lead Actor — Drama
Adam Henry Garcia, Conversations From the Afterlife

Best Lead Actress — Drama
Lilly Melgar, The Bay

Best Supporting Actor — Drama
Raymond Ablack, Teenagers

Best Supporting Actress — Drama
Jodie Hirst, Night School

Best Guest Actor — Drama
Kevin Spirtas, Winterthorne

Best Guest Actress — Drama
Kym Whitley, The Bay

Best Ensemble — Drama

Best Web Series — Comedy
Keith Broke His Leg

Best Directing — Comedy
Behn Fannin, F'd

Best Writing — Comedy
Zac Hug & Jim Rash, These People

Best Lead Actor — Comedy
Keith Powell, Keith Broke His Leg

Best Lead Actress — Comedy
Melissa Archer, Viral

Best Supporting Actor — Comedy
Brennan Murray, The New Adventures of Peter and Wendy

Best Supporting Actress — Comedy
Darcie Siciliano, He's With Me

Best Guest Actor — Comedy
Stephen Guarino, Life's a Drag

Best Guest Actress — Comedy
Cady Huffman, He's With Me

Best Ensemble — Comedy
Hunting Season

Best Original Song
"Happily Ever After" from Or So the Story Goes (by Judith Avers)

Best Soundtrack
Brandon Russell & DJ Amen Ra, The Beat & Path: Walk of Shame

Best Original Score
Robb Padgett, Hollywood Wasteland

Best Sound Design
Matt R. Sherman, LARPs

Best Special/Visual Effects
Jake Jarvi & Ryan Wolff, The Platoon of Power Squadron

Best Cinematography
Arnaud Dumas, The Banks

Best Editing
Julian Stamboulieh, LARPs

Best Makeup
Erik Warren, Bek Harvey & Pakio Galore, Capitol Hill

Best Production Design
Michael Caruso & Barbara Caruso, Winterthorne

Best Costume Design
Zak Thriepland, LARPs

Total Wins By Series
3 Winterthorne
2 The Banks
2 The Bay
2 He's With Me
2 Keith Broke His Leg
1 Arthur
1 The Beat & Path: Walk of Shame
1 Capitol Hill
1 Conversations From the Afterlife
1 EastSiders
1 F'd
1 Hollywood Wasteland
1 Hunting Season
1 Life's a Drag
1 The New Adventures of Peter and Wendy
1 Night School
1 Or So the Story Goes
1 The Platoon of Power Squadron
1 Teenagers
1 These People
1 Viral


Popular posts from this blog

The Complete Story of 'The Doctors' (1963-1973)

Daytime TV covered the world of soap operas for decades before finally folding in the 1990s. In the mid-70s, the magazine did an excellent series titled "The Complete Story of..." recounting the history of a soap opera from its inception. Below is the historical feature on the first 10 years of NBC's The Doctors (1963-1973), which is currently being aired on Retro TV. Some of the interesting tidbits include: * The Doctors did not start as a serial; it began as a "half-hour anthology series of medical dramas, set in the large metropolitan Hope Memorial Hospital, and with the four principals alternating daily in the lead role, according to NBC's original announcement. The roles were Dr. William Scott (played by Jock Gaynor), Dr. Jerry Chandler (portrayed by Richard Roat), Dr. Elizabeth Hayes (played by Margot Moser) and Rev. Samuel Shafer, a hospital chaplain (played by Fred J. Scollay). * Later in the first season, Herb Kenwith and Paul Lammers became

'Days of Our Lives' Livestream Event on September 8 Promotes 'Beyond Salem'

To celebrate the premiere of the Peacock Original limited series, Days of our Lives: Beyond Salem , Xfinity and Peacock today announced an exclusive Days of our Lives: Beyond Salem livestream event only for Xfinity Reward Members. The event reunites an all-star cast including Lisa Rinna, Deidre Hall, Drake Hogestyn, James Reynolds, and Eileen Davidson on Wednesday, Sept. 8th at 8 p.m. ET/ 5 p.m. PT. Viewers will enjoy a conversation with the stars - giving fans a chance to view exclusive content, hear stories from the set, and even have the chance to ask their favorite stars questions. This special event is only for Xfinity Rewards members and is just one of the many benefits available through the Xfinity Rewards program. If you’re not yet a member of Xfinity Rewards, signing up is free and simple to do through the Xfinity app or online at From there, members can view and redeem all rewards currently available to them. “Xfinity Rewards is all about creating u

Melody Thomas Scott Memoir 'Always Young And Restless' Out This Summer

Emmy Award-nominated Melody Thomas Scott admits she is nothing like her The Young and the Restless role, which has seen it all in her forty-one-year tenure on America’s highest-rated daytime serial. But the high drama, angst, and catastrophes aren’t confined to her character’s plotlines. In her first-ever book, the captivating memoir "Always Young And Restless" (Diversion Books; July 14, 2020, available for pre-order now; $26.99, Hardcover; ISBN 978-1635-766943), Melody reveals the intimate and complicated truths of her upbringing as well as behind-the-scenes tales of her own riveting journey to becoming an icon and searching for “normal.” “Even though I have spent almost my entire life as an actress and performer, I have kept my private life well behind the scenes,” said Scott. “Now, I am ready to share these stories of survival and success that have shaped me into who I am today.” As Nikki Newman went from impoverished stripper to resourceful, vivacious heroine—with m