Skip to main content

Indie Series Awards Winners: 'Giants' Best Drama, 'Indoor Boys' Best Comedy

The winners of the 10th Annual Indie Series Awards were announced in a ceremony on Wednesday, April 3, hosted by Eric Martsolf, Kevin Spirtas and Patrika Darbo, all former hosts who returned. Not announced prior to the ceremony, one by one they took the stage declaring they were the best former host and should, obviously, host the milestone 10th anniversary celebration.

Top honors went to Giants and Indoor Boys, named best drama and best comedy series of the year. Giants won awards in a record-breaking seven categories, including best writing (J. August Richards, lead actor (James Bland), lead actress (Vanessa Baden Kelly), supporting actress (Tanee McCall), score (Austin Wintory) and original song ("More Love" by Kareem James and Ashly Williams). Indoor Boys took home four ISAs, including best writing (Wesley Taylor and Alex Wyse), guest actress in a comedy (Krysta Rodriguez) and guest actor in a comedy (Michael Kostroff).

Other acting winners included Alex Wyse (Only Children), Lou Diamond Phillips (Conversations in L.A.), Lauren B. Martin (Anacostia), Paul Soles (My 90-Year-Old Roommate), Alesha Renee (The Rich and the Ruthless), Ryan Wesen (190 Lorimer) and Inessa Frantowski (The Amazing Gayl Pile: Apocolypse Soonish).

The Witching Hour took home the prize for best non-fiction series.

Since 2009, the Indie Series Award has honored the most creative and progressive talent in independent web series. The ceremony was hosted by Emmy winners Patrika Darbo and Emmy Martsolf, and Emmy nominee Kevin Spirtas, a previous ISA winner who leads the all-star cast of best drama ensemble winner After Forever. All three previously hosted and returned as part of the 10th annual celebration, "A Decade of Indie Excellence."

In all, 45 series were nominated from around the globe, including the United States, United Kingdom, Canada, Australia and India.

Check out a complete list of winners below.

Best Drama Series

Best Directing - Drama
Conversations in L.A., Anne Marie Cummings

Best Writing - Drama
Giants, J. August Richards

Best Lead Actor - Drama
James Bland, Giants

Best Lead Actress - Drama
Vanessa Baden Kelly, Giants

Best Supporting Actor - Drama
Alex Wyse, Only Children

Best Supporting Actress - Drama
Tanee McCall, Giants

Best Guest Actor - Drama
Lou Diamond Phillips, Conversations in L.A.

Best Guest Actress - Drama
Lauren B. Martin, Anacostia

Best Ensemble - Drama
After Forever

Best Comedy Series
Indoor Boys

Best Directing - Comedy
Geoff and the Ninja, Jonathan Chuby & Jeremy Abbott

Best Writing - Comedy
Indoor Boys, Wesley Taylor & Alex Wyse

Best Lead Actor - Comedy
Paul Soles, My 90-Year-Old Roommate

Best Lead Actress - Comedy
Alesha ReneƩ, The Rich and the Ruthless

Best Supporting Actor - Comedy
Ryan Wesen, 190 Lorimer

Best Supporting Actress - Comedy
Inessa Frantowski, The Amazing Gayl Pile: Apocalypse Soonish

Best Guest Actor - Comedy
Michael Kostroff, Indoor Boys

Best Guest Actress - Comedy
Krysta Rodriguez, Indoor Boys

Best Ensemble - Comedy
The Rich and the Ruthless

Best Cinematography
In Absentia, Dennis Zanatta

Best Editing
Does It Fart?, Richard Rotter

Best Costume Design
The Amazing Gayl Pile: Apocalypse Soonish, Vanessa Fischer

Best Makeup
Roads to Keystone, George Barr

Best Production Design
Riley Parra, Cassandra Vance

Best Special/Visual Effects
Does It Fart?, Ryan Lussing, Michael Sauro, Timothy Stevens-Eustace & Ilya Schwarz

Best Original Score
Giants, Austin Wintory

Best Soundtrack
Yes We Candidate, Adam Henry Garcia

Best Original Song
"More Love" by Kareem James and Ashly Williams from Giants

Best Non-Fiction Series
The Witching Hour

7 Giants
4 Indoor Boys
2 The Amazing Gayl Pile: Apocalypse Soonish
2 Conversations in L.A.
2 Does It Fart?
2 The Rich and the Ruthless
1 190 Lorimer
1 After Forever
1 Anacostia
1 Geoff and the Ninja
1 In Absentia
1 My 90-Year-Old Roommate
1 Riley Parra
1 Roads to Keystone
1 The Witching Hour
1 Yes We Candidate


Popular posts from this blog

'Days of Our Lives' Livestream Event on September 8 Promotes 'Beyond Salem'

To celebrate the premiere of the Peacock Original limited series, Days of our Lives: Beyond Salem , Xfinity and Peacock today announced an exclusive Days of our Lives: Beyond Salem livestream event only for Xfinity Reward Members. The event reunites an all-star cast including Lisa Rinna, Deidre Hall, Drake Hogestyn, James Reynolds, and Eileen Davidson on Wednesday, Sept. 8th at 8 p.m. ET/ 5 p.m. PT. Viewers will enjoy a conversation with the stars - giving fans a chance to view exclusive content, hear stories from the set, and even have the chance to ask their favorite stars questions. This special event is only for Xfinity Rewards members and is just one of the many benefits available through the Xfinity Rewards program. If you’re not yet a member of Xfinity Rewards, signing up is free and simple to do through the Xfinity app or online at From there, members can view and redeem all rewards currently available to them. “Xfinity Rewards is all about creating u

The Complete Story of 'The Doctors' (1963-1973)

Daytime TV covered the world of soap operas for decades before finally folding in the 1990s. In the mid-70s, the magazine did an excellent series titled "The Complete Story of..." recounting the history of a soap opera from its inception. Below is the historical feature on the first 10 years of NBC's The Doctors (1963-1973), which is currently being aired on Retro TV. Some of the interesting tidbits include: * The Doctors did not start as a serial; it began as a "half-hour anthology series of medical dramas, set in the large metropolitan Hope Memorial Hospital, and with the four principals alternating daily in the lead role, according to NBC's original announcement. The roles were Dr. William Scott (played by Jock Gaynor), Dr. Jerry Chandler (portrayed by Richard Roat), Dr. Elizabeth Hayes (played by Margot Moser) and Rev. Samuel Shafer, a hospital chaplain (played by Fred J. Scollay). * Later in the first season, Herb Kenwith and Paul Lammers became

Alyvia Alyn Lind Back as Faith Newman on 'The Young and the Restless'; McKenna Grace Leaving To Shoot a Movie

Alyvia Alyn Lind is returning to The Young and the Restless as Faith Newman, Nick and Sharon's daughter. Lind played Faith before McKenna Grace stepped in last summer. Grace has been cast in a movie called Russellmania and will be shooting in Vancouver. She will last air on May 29. Alyvia (or "Aly") has played a young Emily Thorne in Revenge , and can be seen in Blended , starring Drew Barrymore and Adam Sandler, which opened on Friday. Aly will make her return appearance on Y&R as Faith on June 26. UPDATE (December 14): McKenna Grace returns to the role of Faith on Christmas Day.